Nick Nick Ni-Nick Nick Nick Nickelodeon! The Worst to Best Nicktoons

Nicktoons-image-nicktoons-36389683-1786-1080

After viewing one of WatchMojo.com’s clip on YouTube based on their Top 10 Best Cartoons made by Nickelodeon, I decided to share my personal rankings on the Nickelodeon-produced cartoons I have seen. For those who don’t know, WatchMojo.com is a ranking/review-based website company which posts Top Ten based videos daily on YouTube and sometimes history lessons on certain topics. Categories include Film, TV, Books, Politics, Music, Sport and Video Games.

As for Nickelodeon, I’m sure most of you are familiar with Nickelodeon. It is an American TV channel which broadcasts and sometimes produces TV shows aimed for children. I never owned Nickelodeon myself, but I knew some mates who did. And them lot are how I got to know most of the shows I am about to explore through this blog.

As the Nostalgia Critic once pointed out, Nickelodeon was the first channel made for kids by kids (well, technically not by kids). At first, the channel mainly broadcast British and Canadian shows, but soon they began producing their own material. One of the brands was a category of cartoons titled ‘Nicktoons’. This is the category I intend to explore;

10. SpongeBob Square Pants

475950
If there’s one nicktoon I despise the most, it’s SpongeBob Square Pants. God, this show irritates me! I can’t see anything great about this nicktoon, nor appealing, nor even funny. I don’t even understand the popularity and as Rhett Butler from Gone With The Wind might say, frankly my dears, I don’t give a damn. SpongeBob has one of the most annoying voices in cartoon history. Why did WatchMojo.com have to rank it number 1? Why, WatchMojo? Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyy?!

9. As Told By Ginger

81705-2
I never cared for As Told By Ginger. There’s nothing really that unique about it. Just about a ginger girl who goes to junior-high school and is apparently a social geek. ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
I ain’t bovvered. That’s all I have to say. Next!

8. Doug

Disney_Doug_Games_Wallpaper_1_800
As a kid, I thought Doug was a rather pleasant viewing. But looking back to it now, I can definitely understand why the Nostalgia Critic hated the show so much. Personally I don’t hate Doug, but I do agree that it is indeed a lame show. It’s bland and forgettable, apart from this particular episode where Doug Funnie purchases some comic book and encounters some hilarious lie-detector, but the comic purchase, we’ve all seen before. Yawn. Actually, there was another episode where he dresses as a superhero called Quail-Man. In fact, they should’ve renamed this show Quail-Man and altered the show’s whole plot, rather than make it about just some high-ish school student who is constantly bullied by some guy walking a cat (don’t make me laugh!). Quail-Man,… something like Batman? Or similar style to Spider-Man? Superman? Condorman?
Anything would be awesome compared to how it is now! Before I move on, I also want to add that the title; I’d give it credit for it’s limited use of 4 letters. After all, Jaws was certainly a great title for a summer blockbuster. But the title is just as rubbish as say Madeline or most of the titles given to them shows you get on CBeebies.

7. The Wild Thornberrys

TheWTBStillpage_Image_3378
Some how, when I think of The Wild Thornberrys, I think of Jumanji. Okay, it ain’t based on a magical board game. It’s about a girl who can talk to animals which is unique, but I think I remember seeing that sort of thing elsewhere, like, for instance, er…, The Jungle Book. Yeah, I’d say it’s more comparable to The Jungle Book than it is to Jumanji.

And of course, along with the rest of her family, they’re international travellers. Dunno what else to say really. Adventurous, but I can’t remember much about this one.

Apparently there was a movie based on the show. I never watched it, but I listened to that Paul Simon song which I have to say has a nice relaxing tone to it.

6. The Angry Beavers

The_Angry_Beavers_=_002

I don’t remember much about The Angry Beavers. But I remember it being broadcast on BBC2. And what I can gather is that it’s about two mentally ill beavers who become bachelors in a forest. And that’s it, about a couple of mentally ill beavers who live a bachelor life in the forest. Adventure Ho!

5. CatDog

CatDog

We’ve all known that cats and dogs are not easy going amongst each other and, of course, conjoined twins are easy to come across but are quite rare. CatDog mixes them two facts together and voila, you get conjoined animals, one half being a cat, the other a dog, both with different personalities, the dog who has a chasing habit which the cat finds very hard to stay out of. CatDog is a Nicktoon which I’d place in the okay pile.

4. Hey Arnold

maxresdefault

What nineties kid could possibly not remember good old Hey Arnold? Well I certainly ain’t that kid. Hey Arnold is about this kid who lives with his grandparents in the Bronx and the show kinda deals with his experiences with the city and various problems he and his mates encounter. Memorable for the city’s atmosphere, certain episodes and of course Helga, who I think is the best character in the show. She constantly bullies Arnold, but has a secret love for him. Kudos for that! And speaking of episodes, I have hilarious memories of ’em; one where Curly lashes out at the school for being rejected as the post-recess ball collector. Another where the school puts on a play based on Romeo & Juliet and all the boys, except Arnold, reject the role of Romeo, because it involves kissing. Lololololololololololol.

Great memories.

3. Rugrats

rugrats

I used to be rather cynical about Rugrats, but looking back, this was without a doubt a great show. Maybe it was the music, but it actually does fit the atmosphere. However, that’s beside the point. The main focus is the world a group of babies live in and how their communication differs to the older generation of, er, people. Like Hey Arnold, Rugrats contains memorable characters; Tommy, the adventurous one, Chuckie, who’s very much comparable to Milhouse from The Simpsons, Anjelica, Tommy’s older cousin and my favourite one; the one who scares the hell out of the babies. For instance, one episodes depicts her warning them that they’ll transfer into chickens through chicken pox which results in them screaming. Lol. Or what about that episode where she tells Tommy and Chuckie about the time when some kid got washed down a bath plug hole. Again I say lol.

Too much to say really.

2. The Ren & Stimpy Show

Screen-Shot-2013-07-01-at-6.34.58-PM

The unforgettable Ren & Stimpy. The Tom & Jerry of the nineties, only a little vulgar. Very explosive, psychological, cringe-worthy, domestically violent. These are the terms that best describe Ren & Stimpy. Imagine getting bashed with irons, you’re eyes popping out so hard they burst and/or turning to pulp and various other actions which would feel so painful in reality. Yet, with all these pieced together, it’s still an awesome and enjoyable experience when it comes to Ren & Stimpy.

1. Aaahh!!! Real Monsters

385978_265560206814808_1598792581_n-300x270
And Thunderbirds are go! Whilst watching WatchMojo’s clip, I was shocked to discover that Aaahh!!! Real Monsters was not included. How come? This is like the best nicktoon I have ever seen in my life. When it comes to shows about monsters, this one is so unique. Yet of course, Pixar nicked the idea from Real Monsters and turned it into ‘such a big block-buster’ that was Monsters INC. (sighs) I can’t believe WatchMojo neglected to include this one on the list. Let me just point out I do not hate Monsters INC. I think it’s an okay film. Just not super great. I think Pixar made better films.

Okay, back to Nickelodeon’s masterpiece and enough of my moaning, because this is supposed to be a happy occasion when I talk about number 1 spots. For those who don’t know, Aaahh!!! Real Monsters centres on a college of youth-monsters whose missions are to scare the hell out of people as part of their assignments and then return to the school to tell the story. See what I mean by unique? Another thing distinctive about Real Monsters is the design of each monster character, especially Krumm. Oh my god, Krumm is like simply the most unique character that comes into mind when I think of monster designs. The fact that because there are no attachments to hold his eyes, he has to hold his eyes. And yet, there were some awesome episodes which demonstrate how hard it would be to cope with the ability to hold one’s own eyes. He is joined by Ickis, who appears harmless due to his rabbit-like body but can extend sizes and Oblina a candy cane shaped creature whose speciality is to implant nightmares into humans’ minds. Their lecturer is the Gromble who I have to say is without a doubt a mad professor. Get it?

The humour often consists of double meanings and occasional adult jokes (that some younger kids may not get) and of course Krumm’s eyeball gags. The show is occasionally dark, but it’s about scary monsters. What do you expect? Aaahh!!! Real Monsters is one of them shows children would expect to see when it comes to the horror genre. Horrifying moments, unique designs, shadings to depict darkness. I liked it so much better than Paranormal Activity.

The strangest thing is, I never knew Real Monsters was a Nicktoon until of course I saw the logo after the closing credits. When I knew the show, it was broadcast early Sunday mornings on Channel 4.

Yell at me if you want for placing such an underrated Nicktoon above the hugely popular Ren & Stimpy, but Real Monsters is the Nicktoon that got me the most invested in.

Before I go, I will leave you with a Special Mention:

Rocko’s Modern Life

maxresdefault (1)

I give this Nicktoon a special mention, because I’m not sure I’ve actually seen a full episode of the show in my life. But when I saw the Nostalgia Critic’s review of Nicktoons, Rocko’s Modern Life did look familiar-ish. Voices, great, designs, great, but humour, so-so. I can see where the Critic was coming from when he said about plain ripping-off.

So that was my personal ranking of the Nicktoons I watched in my life. I know I’ve missed out many of the 21st Century Nicktoons, but I didn’t grow up with them. Anyway thank you for your readings.

Ni-Nick, Ni-Nick, Nick, Niiiick. Nickelodeoooooooon!

2 thoughts on “Nick Nick Ni-Nick Nick Nick Nickelodeon! The Worst to Best Nicktoons

  1. Pingback: Worst-to-Best Adult Animated Series | Jon Ellison

  2. Pingback: Top 11 Most Overrated TV Shows | Jon Ellison

Leave a Reply

