Why I am proud to be a lefty

As you probably know from one of my previous blogs, I have long supported the left-spectrum of politics. My early admiration to politics harks back to my childhood; one of the films me and my brother watched at early ages was the Disney version of Robin Hood. This was one of the reasons why I became a ‘left-winger’. It demonstrated what I consider the important logic to economics; fair pay, economic equality, and that I believe it’s fair that in reality, the rich should contribute to paying taxes as well as the poor. Of course, there were other ‘childhood’ films we watched that I consider left-wing, such as Mary Poppins and The Flintstones movie. Some of my favorite films of all time include To Kill A Mockingbird and Schindler’s List and they’re liberal. This doesn’t mean that I hate all the conservative movies, but I never really liked the Conservative party. The reason is because when Margaret Thatcher was in power, there was a recession going on and she did very little to help the less fortunate. Her economy most certainly killed those miners (not literally if you know what I mean), and I don’t blame them for going on strike.

With David Cameron now in position for the prime minister, the situation is just as bad as it was in the 1980s. I was only 7 months old when Thatcher resigned, but my parents experienced the crisis. So I know some of it from them. How can I tell the situation’s bad? It started, during the late-2000s, when a group of careless bankers gambled a lot of money in storage away. Labour were in power at the time, but when Cameron was elected, the situation did not improve. The conservatives were helping the bankers rather than us. The poor have been taxed, but not the rich. This is very poor logic, because the rich obtain a lot of money compared to the poor. If the government wants the poor to chip in a huge amount of money, why not the rich? This is one of the reasons why I side with the left side of the political spectrum. It makes no sense that the poor should pay more than they earn and the rich do not help. This relates to the time when Robin Hood rebelled against Prince John and his unfair taxes. The rich had plenty of money to be fed and they didn’t need more. Plus, the working class paying more and more taxes could lead to homelessness.

In regards to immigration, I personally don’t care how many immigrants are residing in Britain or any other countries. I don’t see anything wrong with that. It’s called getting to know each other’s cultures. I’m glad to have foreigners residing in Britain. They have made a valid contribution to civilization; foreign restaurants, such as Antibos and the Tiffin, film-makers, artists, interpreters, modern language school-teachers,… I obtain a C in French GCSE (that’s General Certificate of Secondary Education) and I’m proud of it. If certain Brits hate immigrants so much, then perhaps you could explain the fact that certain Brits have emigrated to certain countries. Some of my mother’s relatives moved to Australia. What harm could that possibly do? Those who oppose immigration are just hypocrites.

I support the Labour party. It may sound controversial, but for most of their life, the part has sided with the left; Harold Wilson, to name a few. It was only for a few years when there was one prime minister who introduced the ‘New Labour’ and appeared more ‘conservative’ compared to the previous leaders of the party; sending people to a pointless and illegal war, I ask you. I know Saddam Hussain ruined people’s lives, but you can’t just assume that a certain dictator owns the weapons of mass destruction. They could be anywhere. However, it doesn’t mean that the ‘New Labour’ is resuming. Ed Milliband, who is in charge at the moment, is not abiding to that. He is a trusting person and seems very enthusiastic about getting the economy back on track and creating more job opportunities for the unemployed. I’ve seen his videos, I believe he can improve the situations. I have faith in Ed. Despite the bank incident, I believe that if Labour win the next general election, they could put things right. It’s a matter of observing.

So this is why I am a left-winger. I believe in the simple three things; dignity, equality and the rights to be what one wants to be. I’m proud to know various different people. I am aware that certain conservatives tolerate different races, but there’s still the paranoia regarding the immigration among certain others and I don’t understand what the fuss is. As a lefty, I say getting to know people, no matter what their culture is and without assuming that they’re bad, is the way forward. Seeing the outside world is the way forward. I have a freedom of speech and I will use it!

2 thoughts on “Why I am proud to be a lefty

  1. Pingback: Less Than a Week till the General Election! | Jon Ellison

  2. Pingback: Three Men & The Curse Of Cancer | Jon Ellison

Leave a Reply

