The Worst-to-Best Movies directed by Danny Boyle

Since I reviewed the works of many American directors and production companies, I decided for a change to review a British director. Another reason being is that I too am British. Now I’ve looked through as many British directors as I could. I thought to myself; “Alfred Hitchcock and Ridley Scott are both British, but some of their films are American” and I wanted to analyse somebody whose film CV was mostly British. So I have decided to analyse what I consider the worst and the best features directed by Danny Boyle;

6. Millions

Millions-movie-08

I saw Millions during a college lecture. A couple of my friends hated it. Personally I don’t, but I don’t really blame them. Millions ain’t terrible, but it certainly ain’t Danny Boyle’s strongest movie. I understand Damian’s desire to give the money to the poor and his belief that the money was sent by God. Yeah, sent by God, imagine that. I also understand his brother and father’s desperation to get rid of the cash in case of fugitivity. But it drags at times. This is a film only for those who understand religion. I ain’t among that audience. I’m totally dumb on the subject. And the dialogue so needs tweaking. Seriously, if Danny aimed this for families, why is the “f” word included?

5. Shallow Grave

ShallowGrave01

Somehow, I think one of my lecturers from that film-making college course really admires Danny Boyle (that’s a compliment by the way). Shallow Grave is another film we saw during a lecture. Script, fine. Story, fine. But I’ve seen this film twice and I don’t remember much about it. The characters aren’t really as memorable as, say, Spud or Renton or even that guy who got his arm trapped in a revine – mind you, he’s a factual guy, but that’s beside the point. I think Danny Boyle improved better for his next movies.

4. Slumdog Millionaire

slumdog-millionaire-tyra-banks-show

Some of you may hate me for positioning the Academy Award-winning Slumdog Millionaire so low on this list. I admire the film for the liberal message it gets across and the story of a young lad who’s finances are low and who ends up on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. The working class, i.e. myself, can relate to that, because we often wish for something that can pay us through life easily (I dunno how else to put it) and its every kid’s dream to be wealthy. The problem with the film is… (audience boos), here me out. I realise some of the film is foreign and English subtitles are provided to help us understand, but the subtitles are way too small to read and there’s too much yellow lighting included simultaneously, which increases the reading difficulty. From a media observer’s point-of-view, it’s not a great experience for those who are color-blind.

Personally, I ain’t keen on the music either and didn’t feel it fitted in with the mood, but each to their own. I couldn’t really care if the lead actor was also in some popular British teen programme, because I don’t watch Skins. Still I’m glad I watched the film when I had the chance. Definitely give Slumdog Millionaire at least one viewing.

3. 28 Days Later

2801

Woooooooooooooooooo!

(sighs) Yes, 28 Days Later is a zombie film. Zombie films have been made to death and there ain’t much difference between them, except Shaun Of The Dead of course; anyway, it’s a spoof of the genre, so we can let that off.

Actually, 28 Days Later is also an original example. If you don’t believe me, observe how the zombies are… edited. Are they CGIed? I’ll never know, but the graphics are outstanding. The zombies are more like werewolves. Even the location of trashed London is distinguishable. There was a sequel labeled 28 Weeks Later, but it ain’t as memorable as this one.

2. 127 Hours

ye-top-10-movies

Some of you may have heard about a guy who had his arm trapped in the Blue John Canyon and was trapped for nearly a week. 127 Hours is his story. This is easily Danny Boyle’s best of his most recent material. It demonstrates all the attempts Aron made to free his arm before he had to make the ultimate sacrifice. But there is one film that really, really, really made Danny’s career…

1. Trainspotting

trainspotting2

B-I-N-G-O and Bingo was his name, o! Trainspotting, in my opinion, is the one and only! I ain’t kidding man. It’s everything you want to observe about Danny Boyle. It is like an introduction to the films he would direct later on. Well, technically, Shallow Grave was his first one, but Trainspotting is an improvement. It explores a wide variety of social issues, such as child neglection and drug addiction. There are totally unforgettable scenes included, like when Renton loses his constipation, uses a filthy lavatory and climbs into it after losing a couple of pills that fell out of his butt. There’s quite a foul scene where Spud passes out unaware that he has used the bed as a lavatory. Also, there’s a really dark scene where Renton suffers a nightmare; a baby he neglected comes back to haunt him! Spooky!

So that’s all the films I have seen that Danny Boyle directed. He chose life, he chose a job (film-making that is), he chose films, he chose synopsises, he chose his target audiences, he chose props, he chose a … big career, receiving an Oscar, and other awards. He chose, … various other things.

One thought on “The Worst-to-Best Movies directed by Danny Boyle

  1. Even Boyle’s “worst” movies are way better than most movies in general. Millions is my least favorite too but I don’t hate it by any means and I enjoyed it enough. Shallow Grave is up there for me though, definitely above 127 Hours, I’ll never forget the first time I watched Shallow Grave it was so thrilling & engrossing. When I was a teenager I was obsessed with A Life Less Ordinary and I still appreciate it’s weirdness & humor but I don’t think it’s that great anymore at least compared to Boyle’s other movies. Love your list though, been in the mood for Boyle lately & doing a re-watch of his movies while re-watching a bunch of Cillian Murphy movies. He’s doing another one with Ewan McGregor soon, can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

