The Worst-to-Best Movies directed by David Fincher

Sometime ago, I watched Fight Club for the second time, controversially, on ITV4. Many film bluffs love David Fincher’s works, including Fight Club. Personally, I’m not a David Fincher fan, but I’ve seen about five of his films. So here’s what I regard as his worst-to-best movies.

 

5. The Social Network

2010_the_social_network_004

So I obtain an account on various social networking sites. Does that mean I’m going to enjoy this rubbish? A film about the foundation of Facebook is rarely likely to interest me, but mates kept rabbiting; “it’s brilliant”, etc. So I relented and gave this film a view. It didn’t disappoint. It was one of the most boring films I’d ever seen in my life! All Zach did was yak yak yak. Or as Chas and Dave would put it;

He’s got a beautiful chin,

He’s got beautiful skin,

He’s got a beautiful face,

He’s got taste

He’s got beautiful eyes,

He’s got beautiful thighs,

He’s got a lot, without a doubt,

But we’re thinkin’ bout bustin’ ‘im out, Cos,

He won’t stop talking,

Why can’t he give it a rest?

He’s got more rabbit than Sainsbury’s

Its time he got it off his chest

Now he was just the kind of guy to break our hearts in 2

I knew right off when we first met our eyes on him

But how was I to know he’d break our ear holes too,

with his excessive talking, he’s becoming a PEST, rabbit, rabbit, rabbit….. you know the rest.

 

4. Fight Club

Fight-Club-Brad-Pitt

Okay, so there’s Brad Pitt;

But that don’t impress me much, uh uh uh uh, so the film’s got the looks, but has it got the touch,

Now don’t get me wrong; I think Fight Club’s alright, but it won’t keep me in the groove all night.

Seriously though, I don’t care how popular Fight Club is. Having said that, it’s much less tedious than The Social Network; none of that whinging from, oooh, founder of Facebook(!). But the screenplay is so random and I’m so certain that a film about fighting has been done to death. Nothing much can save Fight Club from being so overrated. I’m glad I watched it at least twice, but I don’t plan to watch it again.

 

3. Se7en

low-angle

Another overrated film with scenes that come from nowhere. Oh look, it’s Brad Pitt. ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Am I bovvered?

Look, I know Brad’s a fine actor and I’ve always loved cop movies. I also like the cinematography. I like this movie better than Fight Club, but I’ve seen him in better movies; one will be coming up shortly.

 

2. Alien3

alien-3-screenshot-2

I hope you’re fans of Ridley Scott’s Alien and/or James Cameron’s Aliens or you probably ain’t going to enjoy this movie that much. Yeah, I’m probably being harsh, but Alien3 is certainly not the strongest of the franchise. I guess you can’t really blame Ridley nor James for not directing this one; they would’ve wanted to move on. After all, it was David Fincher’s starting point, and Sigourney Weaver’s still there. So just enjoy the various alien attacks.

I’m Believing The Strangest Things, I’m Loving The Alien.

Where was I? Oh yes…

 

1. The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button

curious-case-of-benjamin-button-2008

At last, the moment we (and I) have all been waiting for. The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button is the best David Fincher film Brad Pitt has acted in that I’ve ever seen in my life! Oscar or no oscar, adapted screenplay or not, I honestly think this is David’s best work for a feature. This is the one I really really like.

Never have I seen a film where a man literally obtains a reversed birth; I of course mean a life ranging from old guy to baby and not the other way round. It’s way more original and less random compared to David’s other features. The ending is also a very touching scene. I won’t give anything away. This is the film I recommend the most out of all the others I’ve just reviewed.

 

So that’s all of David Fincher’s feature films I’ve watched. So far, for the majority, I’m not a huge fan of David Fincher, but The Curious Case has made my day.

David, if you’re reading this, don’t take this the wrong way. I think you’ve made fantastic music videos, I especially love the video for Madonna’s Vogue. I just find films like Alien3, Se7en and Fight Club not brilliant, just… okay. I still have yet to see The Game, Zodiac and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. One thing’s for sure, you definitely beat Baz Luhrmann.

Leave a Reply

