Gooooooooooodbye Robin Williams

Do you ever feel that somehow, this year or previous years have been unkind to you, because certain people you worship/respect have died and as a result, your childhood is dying out? Well sometimes, I feel the same thing. I was sad to hear that Gerry Anderson (the guy who made some of my favourite childhood programmes) died. I was depressed to hear about Rik Mayall. I was devastated on Dickie Jones’ sudden passing. And now I am absolutely shattered considering what has just happened to Robin Williams.

So here’s why I express my devastation regarding the news and why I loved Robin Williams so much (not in a homosexual way if you know what I mean). He made us laugh. He made us cry. He provided us inspiration. He was a real talent. I could not hate him one bit. Among the films he was in that I watched are;

  • Good Morning Vietnam
  • The Adventures Of Baron Munchausen
  • Dead Poets Society
  • The Fisher King
  • Hook
  • Aladdin
  • Mrs. Doubtfire
  • Jumanji
  • Good Will Hunting
  • Flubber
  • Bicentennial Man
  • A.I. Artificial Intelligence
  • Insomnia
  • Robots
  • Night At The Museum
  • Happy Feet

And I enjoyed all of these films, well except Robots and Happy Feet. Them two sucked, but Robin did not. However the rest were awesome and more enjoyable compared to the two. If there was a favourite film of Robin’s that I had, I would say Dead Poets Society. It was a difficult choice between that, Jumanji and Good Morning Vietnam, but I think I like Dead Poets best, because of its strong liberal values; it’s the sort of film that would teach viewers to think deeply for themselves and not get brainwashed into anything unnecessary. Its message ‘Carpe Diem’ which Mr Keating pointed out played a significant part and I especially love the part where the students literally stand up for him.

But it was not just Robin’s performances that rocked. Hell, he wasn’t just some lousy comedian. He was a real role model. If you think all of his films are just films, think again. Most of them, like Good Morning Vietnam, Dead Poets Society, Aladdin and Good Will Hunting contrasted with his liberal values. Yeah, that’s right. He was a leftie, just like me. He supported the US Democratic Party, he liked Barack Obama better than George Bush and with good reason. Bush was a hair-brained moron who got himself involved in the unnecessary war in Iraq. Robin and myself both knew that the Iraq war was pointless and just hell and that there was no need for George Bush or Tony Blair to interfere. Robin once expressed his disgust with Bush’s politics during his stand-up comedy performances. Sometimes I wonder; maybe Robin Williams should’ve run for president of the United States. Did I mention that he believed in freedom of speech?

Oh Robin Williams. You were one of the best film actors the industry has ever had. I don’t care if you were a senior citizen; you still had everything to live for. Why did you have to go and do something stupid like this? Goodbye Robin.

 

Leave a Reply

