The Inspirations through my Origin in life

For most of my life, I have lived in Leicestershire, which is located in the East Midlands of England, Great Britain. My brother and myself were born in Montreal, Canada; at the time, my parents were working in Canada and I have descendants living there. They were both born in Britain and sometime during the mid-1980s after their wedding, they moved to Canada. This was the time when Margaret Thatcher was the prime minister and I personally don’t blame them for moving, because of the recession that occurred and Canada’s economy was finer then. Frankly, I never liked the Conservative party. I mainly support left-wing parties, because they stand for equality and are more ‘logical’ when it comes to economics.

Only a short amount of my early life was spent in Canada. As a result, I never got to experience much of the country. I was only nine and a half months old when we moved to Britain. This was because my grandparents were very ill at the time. Of course, they are all dead now. It is a shame, because I never knew them as much as I know my great-aunts and great-uncles.

Before my late-teens, I was quite uncertain what career I wanted. As a kid, some of my career choices varied. One dream job related to working on machines; I think it was those toy cars, trains and other vehicles that set me up and the times when I watched certain programmes such as Thunderbirds and Wallace & Gromit that I frequently viewed. Plus my dad has worked as an engineer for most of his life. One of the companies he worked for relates to aircraft manufactured by Rolls Royce.

Another dream job I had on mind was to join the police. One of the motivations was the range of police programmes I watched and because being a cop is quite physical (a bit like machine work and mechanics); it involves chasing any criminals who resist arrest (N.B. it does not always happen like that). Plus, I often passed by a few cops standing around the streets and they always seemed friendly.

But it wasn’t until I got my first guitar at the age of nine when I started to find music tempting. I began to write a few songs, but eventually, and as I was in the middle of studying an A-Level Film Studies course, I became pessimistic and knew that I would not become a musician. During my teens, I regularly saw some of my friends perform in bands. Yet, I found it hard to form one myself. As I became more interested in film, I gave up looking for work as a musician. I did take a music course, but this occurred after completing my A-Levels and I knew it was too late to cancel my application. The only reason why I took the course was because I failed AS-Level Performing Arts and I was rather annoyed about it at the time and to be honest, vengeful. So after my second and final year as an A-Level student, I tried the music course, but I eventually lost interest. A. the music course was only a BTEC 1st Diploma and none of the staff cared about my A-Levels, and B. I owed so much to my Film Studies course, that I became more serious on film-making and less on music. I still have a passion in music, but not as huge as in film-making. I continued to play my guitar and bass and harmonica and I continued to write my own songs, which I hope to share to the public in the future.

During my years in-between middle and high school, I was quite uncertain what I wanted to do in regards to a future career. From my A-Level Film Studies years onwards, I decided that my top dream job was to work in the film industry and produce films. Before I studied the subject, I had watched and obtained a knowledge on a wide range of films, which I knew would prove useful to my studies and sometime before the course’s completion, I knew I barely struggled with the situation and thought of various ideas for new features. I received a D grade in the end and that counted as a pass for an A-Level. During my struggles with the music course, I wrote my first script for a feature film, which I called Amen; a horror/mystery thriller based on an obnoxious vicar who replaces a recently murdered vicar and causes suspicion around the village.

The next year, I enrolled at another college (South Leicestershire) to study OCR National Diploma In Media. I felt more comfortable with the course, but there was one concern. I was only interested in the visual aspects of media; and television, mainly film. I felt the course covered too many aspects of media and I had no interest in radio or magazine publishing. I always viewed celebrity gossip as a self-centered topic and quotes such as “look at me , I got the looks” and “she’s so dirty” annoy me so much. No, film was always my kind of media. This is why I label UK Film Studies (Unit 23) as my favorite module of the course. I wanted to learn more about that aspect of media, so to extend my knowledge and grades, I moved on to The University Of Northampton to study a Higher National Diploma in Digital Film Making.

I felt much happier with HND Digital Film Making, because it was the most focused on film since Film Studies and provided a lot of info that was not covered in my previous studies. The course lasted for two years, so after graduation, I stayed in Northampton for another year to commence a ‘top-up’ application as a continuation to the course; this means that I ‘topped-up’ the HND and studied a final year period for a Bachelor Arts course; Media Production, which also signaled my final year in education. The course wasn’t as good as the HND; for one module, I had to create a viral, which is a bit like an advert, and I didn’t receive enough lectures based on what a viral is. Plus, when I studied the HND, we could create whatever film we wanted. However, my education extended and I am proud to have received decent grades including a 2.1 degree.

Leave a Reply

